Utah Tech University

Health and Safety

Core Objective

Health and Safety provides services to the university in Occupational and Environmental Health and Safety to comply with federal, state, and local regulations and standards. Health and Safety assists with guidance, training, and support to university departments and administration.

Hazardous Materials

For issues, questions and comments concerning hazardous materials contact Kevin Rindy, Fire & Life Safety Officer at Kevin.Rindy@utahtech.edu or Josh Thayn, Chief Safety Officer at Josh.Thayn@utahtech.edu.

UT Safety Data Sheets MSDS Online

(Revised Committee, Formerly the Risk Management and Safety Committee)

HEALTH & SAFETY COMMITTEE – Co-Chairs: Kevin Rindy and Sonja Blea

Charge: Promote a healthy and safe university environment and protect the State of Utah and the University from liability and monetary loss due to property damage or theft by reducing risk in our buildings and grounds, as well as injury to our students, faculty, staff, and other visitors to campus. To do this, we try to limit risk by keeping the campus as safe as possible.

Committee Members: Jessica Abbott, Karen Bauer, Ken Beazer, Ron Bridge, Susan Caton, Alex Chamberlain, Rico Del Sesto, Henry Echeveria, Zach Gates, Jon Gibb, Brian Graff, Moana Hafoka, Luke Kerouac, Stephen Lee, Lori Mayfield, Christina Quinn, Kevin Rindy, Travis Rosenberg, Sonja Blea, Scott Skeen, Kelly Smith, Josh Thayn, UTSA Student Representative, Baku Wahabu, Malinda Whipple, and Dan Wines


Charge: Serves a strategic role in identifying opportunities and risks with proactively protecting and advancing the mission and vision of the University by fostering a university-wide culture of risk and opportunity awareness. The Committee provides a structured, consistent, and continuous process for early and effective identification and reporting of enterprise risks and opportunities to the President’s Cabinet.

Committee Members: Ken Beazer, Ron Bridge, Becky Broadbent, Gabriela Chilom, Andrew Goble, Seth Gubler, Garyn Gulbranson, Stacey Haendiges, Nancy Hauck, Jeff Jarvis, Scott Jensen, Michael Lacourse, Paul Morris, Westley Petty, Hazel Salisbury, Sonja Blea, Jordan Sharp, Travis Rosenberg, Sherry Ruesch, Baako Wahabu, Malinda Whipple, and UTSA representative.


Please report any university risk or unsafe conditions on campus to a committee member or to any member of the University Safety and Risk Management Department.



Josh Thayn

Chief Safety Officer/Executive Director

Email: josh.thayn@utahtech.edu

Phone: 435-652-7855

Office: FacMan 148

Kevin Rindy

Fire & Life Safety Officer

Email: Kevin.Rindy@utahtech.edu

Phone: 435-652-7722

Office: FacMan 150